Home > Gaming, Rants & Opinions > 7 hours to Spore

7 hours to Spore

I’m hardly giddy about Spore, my “hype-dar” is overloaded so I am basing my expectations on the creature creator, which sets them at very low. I dabbled with the Playable Prototypes but that just left me with the sense that Spore is likely to very “artsy”, Will Wright’s “The Village”; it feels like they had this good notion for a game but they couldn’t decide what they wanted to make. Hence the all-over-the-place hype and the carless bandying of words like “evolution” meaning “you get a handful of choices”.

Note I am being excessively sceptical, deliberately… I did, after all, get up at 6am in the morning to see if my pre-download had unlocked :)

  1. September 7, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I’m almost being sucked in by the hype to give this a try. Play it for me and let me know if I need to waste my time. ;)

  2. September 7, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I’ve bought into the hype… I’m downloading it now, with like 10 hrs to go (shoulda preloaded)… I’ve heard there are some problems, but I can’t see any way how this game won’t be fun.

  3. easting
    September 7, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    I’m saving for colinization. Spore hype doesn’t grab me just yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

