Home > Rants & Opinions > Android to Win7: Day 4

Android to Win7: Day 4

Today I seem to have started getting past my initial transitional cloudiness.

When it comes to user interfaces, people tend to expect me to go for very basic, utilitarian styles. But my Windows boxes all run the native UI – I’m not one of those folks who tries to make his Windows 7 look as much like Windows 3.1 as possible (*cough*bloo*cough*).

The Windows 7 Phone UI pleases me greatly. It has a sleek elegance with a sense of depth and a pinch of tounge in cheek: tap and hold a tile and it tilts a little depending on the exact positioning of your finger.

To me, the result is a sense of tangibility, a touch of magic. It feels so much less like stabbing at an electronic display of cyberspace and more like a magical koi pond within which things will swim to the top whenever you touch the surface.

I finally got around to reorganizing the “Start Page” today – i.e. moving a few of the pinned icons around, and this instantly made me feel more comfortable with the phone.

Next up I put in a bunch of upcoming dates into the calendar; I hate doing things like these on phones because it’s almost always clumsy or fiddly. The W7P calendar – the built in one – was a doosie to work with.

I’ve spent a fair amount of time actually on the phone today, and a fair amount of time sending/receiving messages.

The messaging interface is pretty nice, and I found the “Attentive Phone” app option to have the phone automatically go to speakers when turned over REALLY handy. Little touches like those really make the phone feel “smart” rather than obstinate ;)

Increasingly impressed with the touch-screen for accuracy etc. None of the Android phones I’ve used/tried have had anything near the precision: if a web page wasn’t zoomed in, you could forget trying to select links, but it’s rarely a problem on the Trophy.

Last, but not least, the fonts are pretty damn sexy.

Sooner or later, I’m going to have to man up and start trying out a few more esoteric apps.

 

Today’s chances of trading WP7 for a Droid3: 38%

 

  1. easting
    July 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Just read http://www.boygeniusreport.com/ Droid 3 review. They are not to hip on it.

  2. madrebel
    July 27, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    bloo is one of ‘those’ users … for shame bloo.

    as for calendars … i was about to ask why aren’t you syncing to an activesync enabled mailbox but then i remembered you’re just evaluating. i can’t stand calendar options on any phone UI i’ve seen yet. webmail interface or outlook and then sync to the phone is what i do 99.9% of the time.

  3. August 11, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Buddy of mine passed me the link for this. Not bad I must say and worth the effort to take a look, so thanks and keep it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

