Home > Gaming, General > “Cougamers”

“Cougamers”

Watching the Nerdist tribute to Nerd Girls with my gf, she asks “Is there a celebration of us less young gamer chicks”? I replied “cougamers” and then realized I was supposed to say “What? I’m sure Felicia Day is older than you”. But, I’ve had a lot on my mind. What with the moving from Texas to Irvine, making my first commit to WoW at my new job this week, and everything!

 

Categories: Gaming, General
  1. madrebel
    August 13, 2012 at 3:37 pm | #1

    No shit, WoW eh? You’re in my neck of the woods now too! May have to figure out how to buy you a drink for all the ww2ol effort over the years one of these days.

    Grats on the new gig and wish you the best bro.

  2. Gnpatton
    August 13, 2012 at 8:51 pm | #2

    Hey thats awesome! Grats on the move! Other than $$, I would love to have a blog post about your motivations for changing jobs.

    I happen to know a bunch of people who work on WoW. A fx artist named Terrie, a coder named Ben and a DB admin named armando. I told them they should go introduce themselves =) I nearly landed at Blizzard too, but decided to work outside the industry for a bit. My friends know me as Diamonds (instead of Gnpatton).

    Are you going to PAX btw?

  3. August 13, 2012 at 10:20 pm | #3

    congrats on the move. It’s always nice to shake things up a bit.

  4. August 14, 2012 at 1:03 am | #4

    Leaving Playnet … That’s 9 years of my life, never mind the fact that it was a labor of love for the game that’s been a part of my life for nearly 12 years (I was a beta tester).

    Now, factor in that it’s a fairly small team however you look at it – even pre-release they were only double-figure employees. It’s never been a “large” business.

    During that time, we’ve worked near continual crunch times.

    So departures are … intensely personal. I’m on the verge of some eye moistening as it is.

    Why Blizzard? Well, at first it was just as a self-test; can I even get them to notice me?

    And then I got to the code-test over the phone. I’d forgotten what it was like to talk unashamedly nerdy about code with another human. So that lit a spark under me.

    I did some discrete research into Blizzard life. I’ve been back to WoW more than any other MMORPG besides WWIIOL. It may not have first place in my memory-lane of games, I don’t think anything can ever displace EQ1 for me, but it’s spent a lot of time as my favorite MMO – I had actually just fired up my WoW accounts to prepare for Pandaria shortly before Diablo hijacked my attention.

    I liked what I found, and when I flew out for my face-to-face interview — 2 hours of code test and 9 hours of continuous interview! — I really liked what I saw; the WoW Server Team, in particular, hit me with a buzz that took me all the way back to nerdy Perl discussions with my co-coders at Demon.

    By the time I flew back to Texas … OMFG.

    I actually found out within 2 hours of getting off the plane that they were probably interested, and then a mere 28 hours longer to find out I was being offered a job. Those are some of the longest most agonizing hours of my life :)

    I can’t begin to describe how painful it was to leave WWIIOL, and at the same time I can’t begin to describe how blown my mind is by the fact that I’m now working for Blizz on WoW. I can only just barely manage not to rip all my clothes off, leap out of my (3rd floor) window and run around screaming “OMFG I WORK FOR BLIZZ! WAHOOOO!!!! BUT OMFG THIS ISN’T TEXAS, I WANT MY GOPHUR!!!!!”

  5. Snail
    August 14, 2012 at 10:07 am | #5

    Traitorous sellout bastard.

    Good luck Ollie :)

  6. rote7
    August 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm | #6

    Grats && Good luck with your new job.

  7. mwhitman
    August 14, 2012 at 3:43 pm | #7

    Good luck with the new job. Sounds like it should be very interesting.

  8. Pat(fly) kent
    August 16, 2012 at 7:40 pm | #8

    Good on ya. Moving up is always better. Luck and hope to see your tag somewhere down the line.

  9. Joe Nordaby
    August 28, 2012 at 12:01 am | #9

    Damn – now you’re in my neck of the woods. Welcome to Orange County! Didn’t Realize where you were heading. If you need someone to show you around – ask Al and Amy, they know how to get ahold of me. Joe “Sockless” Nordaby

  10. October 13, 2012 at 9:07 pm | #10

    Thanks man :) Haven’t had a lot of time to do anything outside of home/work, what with trying to get my toons up to 90 ;) But … soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

