Home > Coding, WWIIOL > Kdevelop templates

Kdevelop templates

Background: We used to use CodeWarrior for Linux which died of death as we migrated up Redhat->Fedora etc. I just haven't had the stomache to reorganize all of our dependencies or things like our "syscfg.h" in every main application source folder to make our project compatible with any particular IDE (KDevelop, Eclipse, Anjuta, all impose their own organizational hierachies on you).

I've been trying KDevelop, which despite being version 3.0 seems to be a really undeveloped IDE. Hell, 75%+ of the documentation consists of "To be written".

I kinda like the IDE and some of its features, but I'm stuck on something so dumb and trivial I'm thinking "this may not be the one".

I cannot for the life of me find anywhere the describes the list of variable substitutions available in KDevelop's template files (e.g. header file templates). The only one I've found so far is $AUTHOR$. Anyon point me to a list of them someplace?

Note: This isn't a critical feature, what concerns me is that I can't find them. KDevelop is packed with cool features, but it all comes together in a somewhat un-kde way: the usual ease of navigation just isn't there, it just feels like a "bloated kate distro".

I'd almost use Eclipse but … my box seems to be lacking just enough steampower that the IDE gets in the way too often.

I'm quite happy with VI, but then I'll spend a while working in VS2005 and I start thinking "this really is so much easier". Can't put my finger on it. Working with vi is "bloat free" and easy, but it's also lacking so many conveniences (and no, having to type a sequence of 17 obscure keypresses to achieve the same effect 'without having to touch the mouse' really isn't 'just as good')

Categories: Coding, WWIIOL
  1. Easting
    April 28, 2006 at 11:36 pm | #1

    err….xhtml….I hate you!

    http://www.kdevelop.org/HEAD/doc/api/html/howToAddApplicationTemplates.html

    Have a look into the files! There are some variables which the application wizard will replace:

    %{AUTHOR} …… by the author%{EMAIL} ……. by the e-mail address%{VERSION} ….. by the version%{APPNAME} ….. by the project name (KHello)%{APPNAMELC} … by the project name in lowercase (khello)%{APPNAMEUC} … by the project name in uppercase (KHELLO)%{LICENSE} ….. by the license (GPL, BSD, QPL, LGPL, …)%{LICENSEFILE} . by the licensefile%{YEAR} …….. by the year

    All this can be found in $KDEDIR/share/apps/kdevappwizard/template-common/kdevelop.pm

  2. April 29, 2006 at 1:12 am | #2

    Yup, thanks, Easting – I was hoping to find ones which gave you the name of the new file. Oddly, I’m working with KDevelop 3.2.2 and it doesn’t have a kdevelop.pm. *shrug*

  3. April 29, 2006 at 2:03 am | #3

    Actually, that totally didn’t work for me :) I’m trying to set up the project-specific h and cpp file templates, not the wizard templates. Turns out here it’s $AUTHOR$ etc, although $TIME$ doesn’t work, nor any of the other template fields I was able to find in various places.

  4. Easting
    April 29, 2006 at 2:27 am | #4

    Freaky.

    Maybe Kdev isn’t the right juju. Any other IDE that tickles yer fancy?

  5. April 29, 2006 at 2:51 am | #5

    I’d almost use Eclipse but … my box seems to be lacking just enough steampower that the IDE gets in the way too often.

    And, uhm, I actually don’t mind working in Visual Studio 2005. Uh. Ah. I’d actually fork out for a Linux version if it existed.

  6. Easting
    April 29, 2006 at 3:43 am | #6

    Who am I kidding? I know nothing of this stuff. But I truly hope you find what you desire :)

  7. April 29, 2006 at 5:40 am | #7

    I use Eclipse, in one incarnation or another, on a daily basis. For Java development, it’s pretty darn good. For C/C++ with CDT it’s passable and has been improving at a constant rate for the past couple years. Unfortunately, once you get the tao de Eclipse in your head, it’s tough to move to another IDE. I actually had to buy a book (Step into XCode by Anderson) to try to get my mind wrapped around developing C/C++/Objective C/Java in XCode instead of Eclipse.

    On Win32, with a decently and recently configured Cygwin installation, Eclipse with CDT is pretty good (laptop, 3.0 GHz P4 HT with 1 GB RAM). On OS X (laptop, G4 1.5 GHz with 1GB RAM) it’s a little pokey but not too bad. I can’t speak to having recent Linux experience with it, but the last time I used it, it was via X (server, 2.8 GHz P4 HT with 1 GB RAM over a 100 Mb switched network) and it was reasonable for an X11 app, except for that lousy Java startup time. The Java runtime for Eclipse wants at least 256 MB free, although I’d recommend at least 512 MB so you don’t swap, and you really want at least 1.5 GHz AMD/2.0 GHz Intel for the processor and a 7200 RPM HDD, at least until all the editors load.

    Honestly, I’d rather use a native IDE for C/C++ development than Eclipse at this time. CDT isn’t bad, but it’s not peaches and cream and faeries and pixie dust–configuration can be a real pain if you’ve got multiple Eclipse and Cygwin environments (i.e., the PalmOS SDK doesn’t coexist well with Eclipse 3.1 and a gcc 3.0 Cygwin install). XCode looks to be about as full featured as Visual Studio, albeit OS X/BSD oriented, but it does have its warts (Mac MDI doesn’t contain the multiple documents inside one window, which means you want a clean desktop). I still do most of my C/C++ development in vi with makefiles, but it’s rare for me to write more than a thousand lines of that per project.

  8. April 29, 2006 at 8:58 am | #8

    Well you got me thinking, Chris. My workstation is running FC3 – I really ought to fix this by moving the compilation tasks to a separate box that runs the target OS, so that I can run whatever the hell I like on *my* box and then just NFS mount the directories or something.

    What you got me to thinking particularly was that maybe it’s FC3 (which Fedora seemed to shoot thru very quickly). So off I googled, and found this. Natively compiled Eclipse.

    I actually first saw Eclipse under Windows, where it runs very nicely (thanks to the “evil” Microsoft JVM with its heinous native optimizations! Foul devils of efficiency!) Then I left it alone for a while until 3.0 which I only saw under Linux, where it ran like an 800lb woman trying to “escape” from a Hershey bar. I thought it was something about 3.0 that brought this unuseable reduction in speed. I guess it’s just the difference between JVMs.

    Just installing Fedora Core 5 on my VM linux partition, gonna try native eclipse there see how it runs.

  9. Me
    July 13, 2006 at 8:02 pm | #9

    $DATE$ works to output the date and time.

  10. Mark
    September 30, 2006 at 7:25 am | #10

    the %{…} variables are for project templates (what you get when you go to Project->New).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

