Crappy FPS in game videos

I’ve commented before on what seems to be a growing trend in game videos that seem to have no shame in showing lousy frame rates.

I’m rapidly going through the laughably short list of Xbox 360 game demos. On the one hand, the games can be incredibly pretty, but on the other hand frame rates between 5-12 seem to be normal for many of the games. Sure, some of the TV ads with sucky FPS, like CoD2, its a combination of a not-great FPS and the jerkiness of the camera panning system.

But Microsoft (MSGS) seem to have no shame about frame rates. You saw the (now pulled?) Flight Sim ads? “Very pretty, can it do double figure frame rates?”

And then there’s Viva Pinata. Apparently MSGS are trying to pad their demo selection; right now I’m watching the “demo” for Viva Pinata. True, it’s not exactly a video. It’s a series of videos linked together by narrator selections. But it sure as hell aint a demo. Sure enough, when you go to delete the content, it says “Interactive Video”.

But what really sucked was the frame rate. And this was a shrek-style animated video.

Now think about that a second – this wasn’t game-play footage, this was just game-characters pre-rendered as video footage. And the framerate sucked.

This gets me thinking. The Wii is supposed to be less cutting-edge pretty. I wonder if it has better FPS? I wonder if the problem is cost.

Does it cost so much to produce the pretty that the money that would make it run smoothly gets spent elsewhere in the budget? Could CoD3 only afford either to have a good FPS or buy itself a TV ad?

Perversely to what everyone who knows me thinks, I enjoy a good boxing game, and the 360 has a couple of excellent ones. But I just can’t enjoy an FPS with a noddy controller like the 360/PS3 have. I mean, c’mon: You can’t turn around and the devs provide ‘aim assist’ because they know you can’t aim precisely either. WTF? I mean, really: What the fuck?

I think the Wii needs the full backing of the gaming industry to send a clear signal to these console manufacturers: Overdumbed. I get that the PS2 generation are probably more adroit at playing the games, but those two factors alone (slow turn, can’t aim) tell you that the games are being dumbed down to little more than the old interactive videos that games like Firefox once were.

Watching the Red Steel and Call of Duty Wii ads on tv I notice two things:

1. Playing them looks fun. Try imagining how the ads would look if the guys were playing them on a 360. If it were me, I’d be sneering at the controller.

2. The action looks very fluid. Yes, it looks less pretty than the 360, but it looks smoother.

So where 6 months ago I thought that Nintendo had lost their minds, gambling on rethinking the controller rather than building the next Deep Blue of graphics, I’m actually thinking it might be time to Ebay the 360 and get myself a Wii for Xmas.

13 Comments

You’ll never find something like this in those games.

http://www.beyond3d.com/articles/fastinvsqrt/

ASM programmers are a thing of the past. Read something else about Avista and how it is the product of the lowest common denominator.

Golf on Wii (watch it even if you hate golf).

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=wii+boxing&search=Search

“I’m gonna knock you out.”

I don’t own a console, never have, maybe never will, but I’m intrigued by the Wii.

And just as kfsone says it ‘looks fun’. The price and the controller seem much more interesting than pretty graphics from a PS3 (which I Would need a HD TV to really enjoy anyway).

I actually think that the Wii might outsell or at least provide a better ROI for Nintendo than the PS3 will..

Of course unless the 360 and PS3 can come out with a controller setup like the Wii.

I guess the 360 must not have the “minimum FPS for certification” that other consoles have had.

I remember hearing someplace that to get the official PS/2 seal of approval, a game had to run solidly at EITHER 30 FPS or 60 FPS. If the game ran most of the time at 60, but dropped to 42 on occasion, the entire thing had to be dropped back to 30 FPS, because consistent lower framerates are more pleasing than irregular higher framerates.

That’s some interesting article Breed!

I wish we had more of that artwork in our current software…

Found it on another blog. Thought it was worth sharing here. Esp with the FPS complaint.

I usually jump on the latest console bandwagon because my son loves them, have a PSX, PS2, Xbox and 360.

I think I missed the boat with the Wii, all pre-orders old out and this may be the one console that actually is worth the money. The games look so much fun, the variety in the controller and gameplay looks excellent.

Might watch out for a new year bargain on this one.

Everyone I know who has a Wii is tremendously happy with it. As in, it’s freaky, they’re worse than Amiga users. I will say, though, that 4 person tennis was the most fun I’d had (tiring too!) on a console in ages. That, combined with another coworker coming to work complaining of sore muscles .. he’d been playing Wii boxing all weekend .. I’m about >

I’m thinking the Wii as well. I don’t want a console for the internet unless it has a tivo in it. I certainly could care less about HDDVD. A console should be for fun cooperative gaming with friends and the Wii looks like it hits the mark perfectly.

Some of the earlier games I noticed bad fps problems, but the latest ones seem to be really good and I haven’t noticed a frame rate problem.

At first I didn’t get much use out of the 360, but these new titles are starting to pick up some steam. I just finished the single player COD3 last night, and finally got to try out the multi-player. It’s really impressive…..

Have you tried out COD3 yet? If not I’d definitely suggest it.

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

