Aegis means “goatskin”.

Aside from being KOd by a real nasty bout of flu, I’ve been flitting between WW2 and EQ2. Before you leap up screaming “OMG why aren’t you working on …” – I probably have. Unfortunately my attempts to contribute to the most criticial issues we’re having just now have produced diddly squat. Which shouldn’t be surprizing. Since they’re client issues.

EQ2 has been a real godsend, in that sense (a stress valve). Their handling of this years “Frostfell” seems to be further proof that they are now in-control of their project and that the tail is no-longer wagging the dog. I won’t dish out more flattery than strictly neccessary, since most of the devs I had some connection with have gone off to Green Monster. Damn you! :)

Toto and Ramp haven’t been on EQ2 much so my illusionist on Befallen has been gathering dust. Expecting to be soloing I figured breaking out my Conjuror would be a good call, but just to confound myself, I found a really good Crushbone group with some guys from Aegis of Qeynos and the exp started rolling in. For a while there I really did not expect to keep the group ’cause I kept getting us wiped – I seemed hellbent on finding the little pathing quirks for my pets. And once I got my pet under control, I fluffed up and equal number of times myself.

But not only did they not kick me, they knew who Fansy was too :)

After yesterday’s group I cleaned up my Butcherblock quests and made my first foray into Steamfont. Another nice zone, with a delightful nod to the old EQ1 zone. Today I wasn’t expecting another group invite, but they did me the honor of inviting me to an all Aegis group, and we went into the little Crush dungeon. Awesome little group. Tons of exp and some great drops.

I think I annoyed ’em at first, I commented on the fact it kept saying we’d “discovered” loot items. I thought it was a recurrance of a database issue some of you might recall from a few months back. But apparently one of the loot modes just always does it and they thought I was commenting on the loot mode. And then I sicked my pet on the MTs target way too early and pulled a huge room on us. We survived, but I felt like a real dummy.

I can’t remember who it was that asked, but aegis is from the Greek for goatskin, meaning either a symbollic, regal emblem/shield or a protective influence.

The conjuror class is pretty cool, but I’m still getting my head around the role. I’m so used to either being a support class, and I find myself wanting to think I’m an enchanter. I keep rooting things and wanting to cast slows or debuffs or … or something. I have to admit, frankly, I’m kinda thrilled to find myself grouping too. I’ve been almost afraid to for a long time. And I couldn’t tell you why. Not just in EQ2, in all the games I play.

10 Comments

Aegis is the goatskin sheild carried by Athena, the Greek Goddess of wisdom. Attached to the front of the Aegis was the head of Medusa, which was killed by Perseus. Just a little mythology for you.

On a side note, since I know you like Dr. Who, the BBC has done a spin-off from the show already called Torchwood, starring the guy who played Capt. Jack from the WWII Dr. Who episode.

I was this >

damn html schtick! my “

KFS hope ya feelin better
Quick question if you can answer for me

*In the net test u made back in June
Under Network connection it has 2 listings
Primary(Cogent)network and Secondary(Savvis)network

Question is are these the two choices you have in WW2 settings that allow you to choose Primary or secondary connections?

Also, should you choose the one you are getting better pings with?

Does the Requesting 23kbs of large packets always timeout for everyone saying /received too few packets?

I’m not sure I understand the first part. We still have the same two connection choices, primary and secondary, in the external settings app and in the in-game settings app. Primary is still primary, secondary is still secondary. “Choose best” – the default – should still work best for most people.

And no, its not normal for the packet test to time out. That’s usually caused by ISPs that do a little too much “smart filtering” or packet loss; or it might be that you’re on a dialup-style connection with an MTU of 576 and that the 23kb test causes too much fragmentation and you lose some packets.

It was called tueltest
The tueltest app tests both primary and secondary connections?
I have DSL and the last test always timesout
Could explain the packet loss Im getting ingame with Netcode2 yes?

PittPete – I *think* NetCode2 (TCP + UDP) simply is *informing* you of the packet loss you would have had with ‘netcode1’ (TCP).

Players seem to be blaming NetCode2 for the packet loss – which is like blaming your best friend for telling you that your girlfriend is cheating on you. Almost literally.

Now..I am not a coder, so I could be really really wrong. But that’s my take from reading KFS’s blog for a while now.

:)

tueltest’s “primary” and “secondary” correspond to those in settings, yes. It doesn’t use netcode2. But if you are unable to complete the teultest tests, then something is wrong with your connection. Something is wrong either with your connection or your ISP. You can determine if its your ISP by getting something like a netzero dialup free trial (assuming you have a modem handy) and trying it with that.

It can be caused by “accelerator” software – either provided by your ISP or by filesharing apps, because they break the behavior of TCP, and because we’re a game, not a website, we don’t like bad TCP behavior.

Netcode2 reports packet loss when it thinks packets are late. This can be caused by changes in ping. I did change some settings there before release, and I’m seeing it report small amounts of packetloss when it wasn’t before.

Course, you might also need to change your network selection in-game.

ROFL, I remember Fansy. I ran with KAAOS when we teamed with Covetous Crew and Circle Noir on Sullon.

I had great fun reading the Fansy page :)

I’m actually ending Butcherblock quests and having a blast with my winged Swashbuckler (on Antonia Bayle).

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

