More wiretap

I’ve added some RDP-related data to Wiretap (factory stuff). I didn’t get around to adding the RDP progress counters I wanted to add, I’ll do that tomorrow along with some information about captures. The flaw in the capture idea is that I don’t currently write an entry for facilities changing hands due to fallback or allied facilities being auto-converted because of the AB. I’ll look at adding code for that to the host, since it ought to be logging it for administrative purposes anyway.

Found an ancient bug relating to how the game code handled brownouts. Brownouts are when a player disconnects for long enough that the server is about to assume they aren’t reconnecting, but they have re-opened a connection. This caused a race condition which caused an error which caused the particular host to shut itself down with a message “This is bad”. (Not one of mine)

Found it, fixed it, tested it, brought the game down, released it, monitored it while I did the wiretap stuff. I suspect this may have occasionally caused auto-despawns, but I won’t know that for sure until I have more time to research it.

20 Comments

Maybe you can add some query about squads members, you can choose the squad and the result could be the members list with some stat info

I started playing with this over the weekend. I do have a few questions though, 1, I noticed that a few queries that I built using the factorylist were not working correctly after some investigation, I noticed that Tick 232 and 94 were missing from the list. I can only assume that they are facility 9 and 4 but which one is which I am not sure. Can you verify my assumptions?

The second is, will there be any other information provided this way in the future? I would love to see player information such as tie to CSR and squad affiliation.

The “id” on the factorys isn’t a unique “tick id”, use the time for that. What URL are you using that is missing that data, since I’m seeing it on all of the factory logs:

<tick id=”92″ time=”2007-02-05 11:17:14″ owner=”4″ damage=”0″ rdp=”1″ />
<tick id=”93″ time=”2007-02-05 11:17:14″ owner=”4″ damage=”0″ rdp=”1″ />
<tick id=”94″ time=”2007-02-05 11:17:14″ owner=”4″ damage=”0″ rdp=”1″ />
<tick id=”232″ time=”2007-02-05 11:17:14″ owner=”4″ damage=”0″ rdp=”1″ />
<tick id=”3509″ time=”2007-02-05 11:17:14″ owner=”3″ damage=”0″ rdp=”1″ />

The factories don’t all get written out at once, so its possible that you’re just catching them midway between writes.

Note that I changed “id” to “fid” to better indicate “factory id”.

Sorry it was actually 93 and 232 that was missing from the Factorylist.xml.

etc..

I was assuming that since there was no facility 4 or 9 that, they are 93 and 9. I was using id referenced Tick in my original post sorry.

Thanks… I love this info!

Yikes

Sorry the xml did not show up in the post…

Hrm – yup you’re right; 4 and 9 is not showing up. I’ll take a look at why tomorrow.

Hmmmmmm……I’m not a coder but I have a dream! (pow! and a headwound!)

I’m trying to figure out how you could make a TeamSpeak client change to your mission leaders TS channel–a channel which would be created in your particular side’s TS server, and would go away when the mission is closed.

The ww2ol client settings tab would have to have a check-box made where the user could tune TeamSpeak to missions automatically, else opt out.

If you were the mission leader you’d have to have the host relay the mission info to the ww2ol client and have the ww2ol client write two things to a local directory:

unique mission channel code generated at mission creation (may already exist)
the mission leader

The ww2ol client would also need to have the ability to erase any entry from this directory when not involved in a mission, or set it to default to a particular channel of users choice.

There would have to be a community coded TeamSpeak add-on that would scan the local ww2ol client directory for a channel code, and wether or not you are mission leader (in case the mission leader leaves). This this TeamSpeak add-on would have to scan every 15 seconds for a new channel or leader.

Whatcha think? can any of this be passed through Wiretap?

Too much crack smoke?

Bryan

The problem is not if the information could be passed from wiretap, more what you can tell your TS client. TS only really lets you change your own status and settings externally.

If your status as mission leader was passed the most I think you would be able to do is turn on your channel commanders and switch you to a channel (if you had a channel already defined).

The dll was called TSRemote, you can read more about it in the TS forums.

Kfsone, I have built several queries based on your example javascript. When I put the script out on my server, I get a permission error unless I back down the securities on the client browser. The error looks like this in IE;

Line: 69
Char: 2
Error: Permission denied
Code: 0

I did some trouble shooting with the script and it seems to break at “var result = ajaxGet” line.

Is there an easy way around this problem?

Thanks

God I hate HTML!

HALP ME JON KERRY!

Yikes:

kfsone wrote:
Of course, the downside to Ajax is that you can’t pull 3rd party data. If someone wants to make Ajax tools that make use of the XML data in an Ajax page, they’re going to have to pull the data to their own site or Proxy the queries themselves.

Damnit! That sounds important..

kfsone wrote:
Of course, the downside to Ajax is that you can’t pull 3rd party data. If someone wants to make Ajax tools that make use of the XML data in an Ajax page, they’re going to have to pull the data to their own site or Proxy the queries themselves.

I must of missed that :(

It was in the other thread, my bad, and included a link on some workaround ideas.

TBH – I was hoping that it was the domain of the javascript rather than the domain of the page itself. But I was wrong :)

For other projects, I developed a Proxy Servlet that could be used for such things, but it was meant to proxy requests over an intranet, not through the web as that might double the response time. In any case, that would require to install things on the server side, which breaks a bit the simplicity of the idea. Oh well, that’s the price to pay to be safe :D.

Hmm my squad seems to have dissapeard from the wire tap…….

Erh, can you be more specific?

squadlist.xml

<squad id=”4193″ handle=”7thArmy” name=”Welcome, 7th Army” co=”b2k” created=”2001-10-06 04:48:31″ pri-country=”0″ pri-branch=”0″ pri-brigade=”0″/>

squadlist.full.xml

<squad id=”4193″ handle=”7thArmy” name=”Welcome, 7th Army” co=”b2k” created=”2001-10-06 04:48:31″ pri-country=”0″ pri-branch=”0″ pri-brigade=”0″ recruiting=”1″ last-login=”2007-03-02 13:13:44″>
<xo>snort</xo>
<xo>trekman</xo>
<xo>sgtrose</xo>
<xo>jacque</xo>
<xo>o7tharmy</xo>
<xo>bmc628</xo>
<xo>defting</xo>
<xo>talon5</xo>
<xo>killerno</xo>
<xo>defkon</xo>
<xo>theghost</xo>
<xo>eesti</xo>
<languages primary=’1’/>
</squad>

The ordering changed; are you doing a case-sensitive match (‘7tharmy’ instead of ‘7thArmy’?)

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

