Testing well, web page time

The testing has gone well so far, and it looks like the TOE implementation is ready for its web-interface so I can move it to the next level. Frankly, I’m all webbed out and not looking forward to having to go back to HTML/JS/etc right now, but I can’t go much further without introducing the data.

This time around I used an abacus-like design for the TOE supply system; the top shelf is the current stock, the second shelf is the units due for delivery in the next M minutes, and the rest of the abacus is one big shelf – a linked list of all the vehicle tickets that have spawned out.

The current system simply has one huge linked list of all tickets at each supply center. You wanna find the next matilda? Here’s a pointer to an object with a “type” and a “next”. Have at it. You want to insert a ticket 35 minutes down the line? while (ptr->time < 35) ptr = ptr->next; (there’s a buffer object at the end of the list, so checking for null is redundant)

The way I’ve implemented this, if I can figure out what I was doing wrong with my meta-lists, I can go back to using individual time slots for each supply ticket. I still can’t see why it was using so much CPU unless there’s a bug in either the version of GCC or the STL we’re using.

Oh my god.

[osmith@workstation~]$ gcc –version
gcc (GCC) 4.1.1 20070105 (Red Hat 4.1.1-51)
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

That’s the machine I develop and benchmark on; this, however, is the build box:

[wwiiol@build~]$ gcc –version
gcc (GCC) 4.0.0 20050406 (Red Hat 4.0.0-0.41.fc3)
Copyright (C) 2005 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

KAAAAAAHHHHNNNNNNNNNN!

Argh. It looks like I’m going to have to put together a migration plan for our servers so that they can run the code that the 4.1.1 boxes build; right now they’re running an old, stable version. I can work around this problem with the code I have but. ARGH. I can’t believe I didn’t freaking think of that sooner.

3 Comments

did you just think of a major flaw while typing a blog post?

Oh, so is this the “docket system” you were talking about earlier?

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

