EQ2 and invisible mobs

Up until Frostfell [sic], I didn’t have a problem with mob rendering in EQ2, apart from one case where Bloodhorn minotaurs destroyed me either by spawning or rendering late on my 6. I hadn’t heard anyone complain about it either.

A few days later, there was a hotfix that mentioned something about fixing a problem with mobs drawing late. Ok, I thought, maybe that one situation hadn’t been my background download of Fedora Core 6.

Since then, however, EQ2 has been worse than SWG ever was for not drawing mobs until late. In Runnyeye, the room with Hammer Head is a new raid-wiper. I suspect the change that was made said “if mobs are hitting you, you should draw them”.

Over the weekend our Pillar of flames exploration was freqeuntly thwarted by the issue (sandscrawlers were abysmal for it). As best I can tell, a problem affecting lots of people. I see people talking about it on just about every channel, whenever it occurs, no matter who I’m grouped with, they experience the same problem.

Is there some secret trick to avoiding this problem that the rest of us don’t know about?

13 Comments

Invisible MOBs are not fun.

I heard a soldier on Teamspeak today say his Mobile Spawn went down when the Forward Base was destroyed. When the FB was regained the MSP came back but the truck was invisible. He thought it was humorous how the enemy could not destroy the invisible MSP but I am certain they were furious.

yeah theres a solution. Play a mud. Cheaper and more fun..:P~~

Buy…more…RAM?

*runs*

:)

Yeah rendering is a big problem many people are complaining about. My suggestion would be to tone down your graphics options: rendering distance, complex shader distance, all texture resolution options and all model detail options and see if it makes any difference.

I was trampled in Runnyeye because of this.

No, you were trampled in Runnyeye because you were grouped with me — ask Laccy :)

Damnit, Joker beat me to it.

I heard a soldier on Teamspeak today say his Mobile Spawn went down when the Forward Base was destroyed. When the FB was regained the MSP came back but the truck was invisible. He thought it was humorous how the enemy could not destroy the invisible MSP but I am certain they were furious.

Hmmm. Now that’s an interesting one to try to replicate.

Easting, I can safely say that – even though I live thousands of miles away from him, even though he plays on a different server to me, even though he plays at different hours, even though I haven’t grouped with him for months, even though our levels are incompatible for normal grouping and his mobs would be grey to me, and even though I know that if I were to group with him it would happen again and so I don’t – that he, KFS*, has single-handedly been responsible for every train of monsters that has killed me, you and everyone else since the invention of multiplayergaming, and probably before then too.

Hooboy, somebody’s looking to get “Bushman’ed”. ;)

Hmm. I would have settled for you admitting I’m better at it than Hoggy :)

So Shoo has left MoR? Traitor. Now we have 3 people in the guild….oh whoah is me.

Come over to the dark side Toto….

Resistance is futile…..

I am your Father…

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

