TiVo: Good buy, bad buy

A little while ago Comcast dropped its customers in our local area and ran like a little girl, abandoning us to the mores of Time Warner Cable. One of TWCs first acts was to deny its non-digital customers the TV Guide channel.

I wasn’t exactly glued to the box before I lost the guide, but the absence of a guide meant that I was even less aware of what was on the box than the capricious twists and turns of the TV-schedulers already had me. (My grandma and parents always referred to TV as the ‘google box’, and that was the spelling I used as far back as I can find. So Google’s use of the word has always somehow just made sense to me)

I’ve only had my TiVo for 3 days now, but its already done a horrible thing to me – I discovered that there are actually quite a few shows on TV that I’m happy to watch.

I only bought the Series 2 TiVo ($79 with rebates! 80 hours, dual channel recording) and am already wishing I’d bought the Series 3 TiVo ($659; no prizes why I settled for a Series 2). Not so much for the recording capacity, but for the ability to record two channels and watch a third.

What the hell? I don’t watch this much TV!

To be honest, the effect will wear off in a couple of weeks when BattleStar, Lost and Smallville have run dry and TV is a desolate wasteland again, and I’ve already seen the shows that Discovery and History Channel are showing repeats of.

I think the best show of the weekend had to be History Channels “The Last Stand of the 300“, even if you haven’t see 300 yet. Its just so nicely done :) The only negative was that the show is only about 20 minutes long, and they abuse the recap to the very edge of tolerance – the last few segments seem to be verging on 5 minutes of recap and 3 minutes of story advancement. I hope, if they show it in the UK, they’ll just show it as a simple 28 minute BBC show.

But regardless, I can see that TiVo is going to be a good buy (for the cat, who will see a distinct increase in available lap time) and a buy buy (for me, who is going to be gaining skill increases in couch occupation)

7 Comments

you will soon learn the greatness of time skipping. Commercials, forget about ’em. Looks like a re-cap fast forward 1min with a touch of a button. Turn hour long shows into 40 minutes. Now you’ll be bale to watch more content with less interruptions by commercials.

You just have to worry about your TiVo thinking odd things about you based upon your viewing habits or your cats.

Yeah, I loved my DVR (although now I’m off the grid and exclusively newsgroups because of the $75/mo for cable TV). I watched more TV in less time. You may get hooked, like I did, on some of the History Channel International programs. There’s lots of good ones…particularly covering the years 0-1500. If you can catch Terry Jones’ Barbarian Lives, it’s very well done, and covers a lot of stuff that other Barbarian programs haven’t covered. Plus, it’s Terry Jones acting all inquisitive and taken aback.

I’m pretty shocked you didn’t build your own.

You just think you will watch more tv now. In fact, you will end up watching less. Once you realize that you can save a few shows up and watch them together you don’t worry about making TV time. Then you will sit down and realize that watching 9 straight episodes of 24 (or other random show) just isn’t worth the time invested and then kill them all. At least thats how it happened with me.

It is nice to have a couple Daily Shows and Simpsons reruns always available. Plus I love watching Cops. I can get through an entire 30 min show in under 6 mins.

You’ve got hours and hours of Dogfights, Mail Call, Superweapons .. all kinds of military goodness! Can’t forget Myth Busters .. and many others.

Myth Busters are Geek Gods. Not Greek. Geek.

My Indonesian girlfriend bursts out loud laughing at me whenever I want to watch it – but watch it I must. They are strange and interesting, and the young kids are too normal. Wacky geeks melting, burning and exploding objects…who knew?

You northern monkey, it’s a goggle box!

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

