Tea, vicar?

Yes, I’m British, so you already think I’m a tea freak. I actually drink coffee more often, tea is more of a treat. Since introducing the office the Flavia machine, Animal and I have somehow wound up talking about tea making. Course, you’re probably thinking cup + water + tea bag = done; and I don’t blame you.

As an upshot of our discussions, tho, Animal happened on Teavana, and just as he was thinking “this is too much” he stumbled across the perfect tea brewer. I picked one up and some Assam tea, and man. Luxury!

If you like “Good Eats”, real tea making is actually quite surprisingly satisfying.

Really making tea, like really making coffee, can be a bit zen. Choosing the types of leaves, the blend, and the actual brewing process has a number of variables you can play with. Pouring hot water into a cold pot rapidly lowers the water temperature reducing the amount of caffeine in the tea.

When drinking tea with milk, most teas taste best if you pour the hot tea *into* the cold milk. Just too much hassle when making tea without a pot, but another score for the Teavana tea brewer ;)

If you give ’em a look over, the English and Irish Breakfast tea are pretty nice, Assam Gold Rain too.

11 Comments

I am very anal when it comes to making my tea. And yes I’m British. People that just pour water onto tea bag, leave a few seconds and then just pull out tea bag, need to be shot! There is a whole technique for making tea and all different sorts. Too much to type now also! Leaf tea is what it’s all about. Bags whilst have their advantages are just no comparison to proper leaf tea…

I think there is some aspect of the taste of coffee that doesn’t register on my taste buds. We have 5 different types of coffee with our flavia machine, and some days I get a hint of the difference between one type and the other, but on most days they all just taste like coffee to me.

The only difference I can regularly distinguish is the strength.

Whereas with tea I can taste the subtle and unsubtle differences – like the difference between milk first and milk last when drinking english tea.

I totally get why there is so much culture around the brewing of tea.

Dilmah extra-strong in bags. Who has time to make leaf tea? :) Although I grew up on leaf tea in a teapot – turned round 3 times before pouring, of course!

Horse: Anyone who buys Teavana’s brewer :)

I like teacuppa.com lapsang souchung with milk.

“If you give ‘em a look over, the English and Irish Breakfast tea are pretty nice, Assam Gold Rain too.”

Nice. I just bought yesterday both of those when they were in offsale.

Yorkshire Tea, the decaf version is nice.

You should take care not to pour your tea until at least an hour after applying your nail polish.

:P

…@/

Decaf? Actually, thats one of those “details” about tea; almost all the caffeine in tea is from when boiling water first hits the leaves, so you can actually very easily decaffeinate tea bags.

Defting, if you’re anywhere near london and vaguely bored – worth having a nosey at the Bramah tea museum on the southbank (vaguely near the new globe theatre). Very interesting for history on tea and to a lesser extent coffee (tea bags are all about a 1 minute brew time with very small fragments of leaf [the so called CTC process – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crush%2C_Tear%2C_Curl%5D)

Personal favourites are Assam for being with cow-juice, and oolong for without (and a definitely aquired taste)

— asnaedae

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

Tea Time! » Tea SetMay 9, 2007 at 11:29 am

[…] Tea, vicar?Yes, I?m British, so you already think I?ma tea freak. I actually drink coffee more often, tea is more of a treat. Since introducing the office the Flavia machine, Animal and I have somehow wound up talking about tea making. … […]

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

