Wasted hours

Bloo found that damage was crippled on the beta server, it looked like I’d broken something. Couldn’t see any obvious indications of what, so I did a 1.26 -> 1.27 code review. “Wasted” maybe isn’t the right term because checking for obvious or dumb mistakes between the two code bases isn’t a bad thing, but I could probably have better used the time actually testing code/writing test units/etc.

Turns out its simply to do with the way the strat server controls the configuration of the other servers. I’d changed the shape of the configuration data and the cell hosts thought they were being told to behave like a training server.

Gah.

One thing I did catch, that I’m going to run with unless Gophur nixes it: 1.27 allows mobile spawns to a contested town, even if its friendly. This will help vs softcaps, I think.

Haven’t started on Fallback, but will probably do that later today. I think I’m going to try and code up rules that let you fallback if the town is an objective.

I’ve got one other thing I need to work on after TOEs/for-1.27 which is an improvement to the way EWS is calculated. I’ve got this thing called “CPColliders” on the cell hosts which is basically the Grid system I developed on the chat host ported to the cell hosts (and waiting to replace the old system).

Right now EWS is a bit expensive for the hosts to calculate, I want to switch it to using the CP Collider system for a more rapid lookup and then make it so that it counts friendlies as well as enemies.

Before you go firing off “ooh, does this mean” – no, it doesn’t.

Unfortunately, all of our citys are manually created, and because of the way the terrain editor works things tend not to be as they appear. For instance, the association between a building and a facility has to be expressed manually – so just because a building is right between the depot and its flag building does not mean it belongs to that facility.

Likewise there might be a depot facility inside an armybase, right next to the bunker. Doesn’t mean it has been associated with it.

I guess, actually, I could probably write some code to completely override all of that – except that I don’t think I get z values for anything, so I can’t, for instance, tell that two facilities are disconnected by a large hill.

That said, I might spend a little time on that on Sunday – it would be interesting to run it and see what differences it comes up with, as well as allowing it to run wild with things like ruins etc – stuff that isn’t included in the strat host specifically because it wasn’t manually associated with anything.

I really need to get a hold of Rick at some point and persuade him into familiarizing me with world data beyond the SDMs so I can mess about with some other related concepts.

Genuinely missed playing the game today. Gonna get some more sleep, do some house chores, and get in a couple of hours playing before I start spending the rest of my Saturday on TOE cleanup.

4 Comments

Yay! I’m not crazy. Wish I’d known training server had a limited damage mode – I wouldn’t have spent so much time on confirming what was I seeing.

Get some sleep.

“One thing I did catch, that I’m going to run with unless Gophur nixes it: 1.27 allows mobile spawns to a contested town, even if its friendly. This will help vs softcaps, I think.”

Yes, Yes, This is what I told you to do earlier. (you can look it up if you want) It’s a great idea That will turn soft caps into fights. This will move the fight away from siege warfare, and into positional warfare.

“One thing I did catch, that I’m going to run with unless Gophur nixes it: 1.27 allows mobile spawns to a contested town, even if its friendly. This will help vs softcaps, I think.”

WOOT !!! I’ve been advocating that for awhile now. It really will help both the soft capping AND regular defense situations! If you need to smack Gophur over the head with a wet Mackrel and keep him subdued until 1.27 goes live…..

“One thing I did catch, that I’m going to run with unless Gophur nixes it: 1.27 allows mobile spawns to a contested town, even if its friendly. This will help vs softcaps, I think.”

interesting ! :)

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

