P7N + QC6600 + DDR2 1200 + 8800GT = Reboot

I’m kinda stuck. Memtest86 runs all tests with no problems. DSL (Damn Small Linux) boots and works fine (most boots). Try to install Windows XP and it copies files, reboots as normal, starts booting Windows to run install, and just reboots.

I tried swapping the RAM sticks around and I get different results – for a while it was actually “Installing Windows”. One time it sat there for about 20 minutes then it reported something about files not being copied and rebooted and back into the reboot cycle.

I swapped the RAM sticks around again and no combination would get as far.

I don’t have the X-Fi card plugged in. FSB is at 1067, memory is being run at 800 instead of 1200 – neither the mobo or the CPU (I think) support DDR2 1200. Gah.

At the minute I’ve got 2 sticks of RAM in it, 1 stick didn’t seem to work either.

The memory is Transcend aXe, which is not on the list of supported vendors on MSIs site…

I tried installing Windows XP 64 and I got a “PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA”. On my last WinXP install attempt, I got the same thing in “framebuf.dll”.

Is this all down to the RAM? Could it be the video card?

26 Comments

rebooting computers could be a lot of things, but I’d rule in the MB and rule out the graphics card at first…

had a faulty MB a while back that let me install linux on the 15th try, the other times it just rebooted itself from 1-90% during the installation.

but see if you can borrow some old stuff from a fellow rat and start to switch components until it works. I don’t know any way to get around plain old trial and error.

I had the same problem installing XP 64 and Vista 64. Page fault in non paged area… couldn’t find anything at the time to indicate what the problem was, but a full wipe+install of 32 bit version worked fine. Let me know if you figure it out :P

This is why I swear by two things when building a new puter:

1. Never buy open box items, you are rolling the dice.
2. Always buy an Intel brand motherboard, they never fail.

I went through this same scenario twice– once with a Gigabyte and once with a MSI motherboard. Never again will I make that mistake. Lowest bidder products that barely meet (Intel’s) spec. Best of luck with that, but I’d put it in the box and send it back.

If you have tested everything and you still get errors you may have a flaky PSU. Perhaps you bought all the fancy new toys and all the sudden the WATTage of the PSU was slightly insufficient.

I had a problem with write errors and blue screens upon install of windows. I changed the whole computer. Everything. From RAM to motherboard, to graphics adapter to HDD. Exact same error. Changed PSU to a 500watt rather than a 350watt – Works like a charm now.

A defective power supply could cause it to have problems spinning up the HDD and CD causing write failures.
But the rebooting in xp after install could be a video card issue, that’s what my 6600gt started doing when it’s onboard memory died. Windows would try to switch resoutions, hit the bad ram, bluescreen and reboot (remember XP disables BSOD’s by default and just reboots the PC)

Last week i had similar probs after 6 days of nearly smoothless running a complete new system (8800GT, P5 N32 SLI Plus, bla bla bla). System was built completely by local vendor i trust – no complains about that.

I was gaming 6 days. Nice.

Suddenly it didn’t boot, didn’t copy, didn’t run. It showed ndisp4 errors or just a freez or some other crap. It ran for hours and all of sudden freezed: It stopped the hdd(!) after hours in a gaming session.

I turned in the complete system to the vendor, and they couldn’t reproduce it. 3DMark ran for hours… no problem, i saw the log. It ran again the complete evening, gaming.

Next day the computer resisted to start or got stuck at the logon screen. After the 8th try it started and ran without probs for 45 minutes, when i discovered by accident how to reproduce it for sure:

Knock on the case ==> System dead.

I turned it in again (“knock it”), got a new GT 8800, same model, and everything is fine since, with the same installation on the same hdd.

Message: Try another GT8800, if possible.

OK, so it’s re-starting(crashing) AFTER it’s installed Windows and is trying to load after it re-boots from copying the files?

If so this sounds like a BSOD crash (you may even see a breif flash of blue as it restarts).
You could try holding down F8 to see if you can get into Safe-Mode. If you can you can turn off Automatic restart and taht way you will be able to see what the BSOD message is.

Whilst if could be a fault PSU, my instinct is either dodgy RAM, or a faulty harddrive.

P.S. I HATE fault finding via the internet or over the phone! Solving these issues is SO much easier when you have the PC in front of you!

If the brand of your mem is not supported than I bet your Ram is the problem. A friend of mine had the same problem. Unsupported memory gave him reboot after reboot. Other brand: no more problems.

Sounds like a RAM issue to me.

I tried DDR2-1066 and DDR2-800 RAM, it refused to run any of them at the correct speed, and regardless of which or how many DIMMs I populated with which kind of RAM, it just did not want to run them at the right speed or run properly.

So I ordered an EVGA 780sli. Put it in, plugged everything in, added a second 500Gb HD and powered up.

“SLI-Enabled Memory Disabled (4 DIMMs)” and something about “Speed >1200Mhz not supported”.

So I yanked 2 sticks and powered on again. “SLI-Enabled Memory Disabled”. I went into the BIOS and Enabled it. Powered off and on again.

“SLI-Enabled Memory Enabled”.

I went in and configured the SLI Memory to CPU OC Max. Rebooted.

“SLI-Enabled Memory Enabled (1200Mhz)”.

Left the rest of the BIOS at its defaults, configured the HDs as striped RAID, installed XP Pro SP2, flashed the BIOS, flashed the 8800GTs BIOS, installed drivers, connected to the network, downloaded driver updates, installed the updates.

Gave it the correct timings for the memory, etc, etc. Partioned the Raid array as

64Gb (XP Pro 32)
64Gb (XP Pro 64)
64Gb (Vista 32)
64Gb (Vista 64)
64Gb (Server 2003? Linux?)
633Gb Common Disk Space

Right now its installing Windows updates for Windows XP Pro 32.

I’m going to sell the Quad Core to CRS cheap and replace it with an EC8400 (Core 2 Duo Wolfdale, 3.0Ghz) because the QC is 65nm and has a front side bus of 1066 while the dual core is 45nm and has an f.s.b of 1333 so I’ll get the most bang for the buck out of it, I think.

I’ve been testing my E8400 last few days on a 780i board. I’ve been able to get up to 4.2Ghz while staying under 1.4v core. The 45nm chips have shown really nice performance increases from minimal vcore increases. Though some folks have been complaining about ‘wonky’ temperature readings from the chip diode and some have even found that pushing beyond 1.4v can kill the chip. At base settings (3.0Ghz) with a DTEK fuzion water block with modified nozzle kit, MCP655 pump I’m getting 26C idle 28C load.

Myself, I think the best bet long term (meaning the next 9 months) maybe the Q9450, anything for better frame rates ;-)

If you want some real stress testing software try the Mersenne prime search. Search the thread below for the latest stable beta. This is written specifically for stressing out multi core chips. It will max out your memory bandwidth and CPU. This is probably the most highly optimized FFT around. I’ve been using this and running various versions for over 12 years now. It has detected numerous memory issues, pending CPU deaths and various malware detections over the years. The last item is due to Mal-ware sucking up CPU cycle to alter your iteration times.

http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=8431

Here’s my block post commemorating Primenets 10 years of operations.

http://www.4rca.com/blog/2008/01/primenet-is-10-years-old.html

Actually use this thread they have a more recent release.

http://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=9779

I’ve started running ntune on my box – however, it only runs the RAM at 800Mhz unless I turn on the SLI-Enabled option. If I do that, ntune craps out at about +3% cpu increase. Now, I haven’t let it run all the way, I’m just wondering if anyone has configured a similar setup and whether I should leave SLI-Enabled off or if I should turn it on and leave ntune to work around it.

– Oliver

I performance tune on the 780i all the time, let me step you through some basic BIOS settings that should help you get to the 1st stage. I’d also recommend going to http://www.evga.com and check out their forums, lots of good threads in there – I post there a lot as well.

A) Remove ntune, I know it seems counter intuitive, but it is buggy and anyone who uses a performance board should just toss it has a tendency to cause more headaches than its worth.

B) Go into your BIOS and do the following:

1. Check your MCP temperature under the ‘System Monitor’ section, if it’s > 70C that’s something you might need to take care of, but we will come back to that.

2. Make the following modifications in your settings:

– Under: Advanced Chipset Features
* Disable All ‘Spread Spectrum’ settings

– Under: FSB & Memory
* SLI-Ready -> Disable it you don’t really need the EPP and the OC Mem settings are better off in your hands then some micro-code programmers, folks have had lots of issues with the SLI-Ready stuff.
* FSB Memory Clock Mode -> Linked
* FSB Memory Ratio (pops up after you set linked), use a ratio that hits close as possible to the memory setting the memory is spec’d for.
* Memory Timing Settings — Leave this for now, the board will make guesses at the best memory timings to reach the proper mem speeds — after everything seems to be working OK you can come back here and do some advanced tightening of the timings.

– Under: CPU Config
* Disable everything except the CPU Cores and the Exec Disable Bit

– Under: System Voltages
* Make sure the memory voltage is set to the proper spec of your memory sticks, it will typically default to 1.8v for vDimm. If your memory spec > 2.2v then don’t exceed 2.2v (the nvidia 680i/780i are quirky with mem voltages over a certain threshold, best to stay below it).

C) Reboot

Ok, at this point you should be seeing your memory at > 800Mhz (if you picked a ratio that gave you more than > 800Mhz). The best way to performance tune moving forward is the old fashioned way. That is, reboot, go to bios, adjust settings, test, again and again.

Drop me a note if you need pointers or go to the EVGA forums, or http://www.411overkill.com, a new overclockers forum.

P-

Well there’s part of the problem: My memory is faster than my FSB. My CPU is a QC6600 1066 FSB. My RAM is DDR2 1200…

The ratios all reduce the resulting RAM speed. I tried setting it to unlinked and put the RAM at 1066; benchmark speed is a sizeable chunk below what it was like when I did SLI-Enable CPUOC MAX% – and it seemed stable too.

Yes, but now you can tighten up the timings and change the FSB speed manually, it will speed up the clock on your CPU, but the Q6600 folks typically can get up to 3.6Ghz. I wouldn’t advise going unlinked, linked and sync’d is typically the best or using one of the ratios.

Do you know the stock mem timings of the memory? 5-5-5-15? or are the 6-6-6-18 ? If you’re seriously unerclocked on the memory, then go into expert mode on the memory timings and start tightening them up, it will have an impact on overall speed/performance of the system. I bet you can run that memory at tight timings a DDR950 or so and run circles around it’s stock capability at DDR1200

P-

Transcend aXe DDR1200+: 5-5-5-15.

Incidentally – I’m happy with the way it all works right now, for the moment. Dual Core EC8840 arriving on Monday (45nm wolfdale) so I should actually get DDR 1200 out of the RAM without clutzing it.

In the meantime, I’m getting 132-150fps in the air even using Realtek audio.

Course, that’s a raw, naked, XP install. I tried the same box under Vista with various services and options turned off and I get a peak of 120fps. I’ve stuck an X-Fi card in the box and the Creative ALchemy package which might allow the card to do some hardware acceleration.

EC8840? or E8400? BTW, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if you went into expert memory settings and tried the following:

5-5-4-12

If it runs Orthos with no problems for 15 min with large FFTs then try

5-4-4-12

Same again, then

4-4-4-12

Bet the memory at it’s current setting can run a lot faster since it’s not at 1200, matter of fact I bet you could probably get better throughput on it. Matter of fact I bet it’ll run at 4-3-3-12 settings.

P-

Oh, its at 1200 with SLI-Enabled enabled and CPUOC at 5%.

I had to turn it down from MAX because I was starting to get blue artifacts on the screen when using IE after running a stability test. That said, I also had the ram overlocks to 4-3-4-13.

– Oliver

hi. i know this is way off topic but i got a q6600 with an msi p7n board. my problem is windows (both xp and vista) report 2 cores only. in fact all ident utilities including cpu-z report 2 cores only except intel’s which reports all 4. what’s going on?

Try updating BIOS on y our M(es)SI motherboard.

no updates yet on their website.

I have seen seveal having problems with higher than, it says it supports it but not yet. I put in ddr2 800, oc to 1300 all went great no problems 780i, 9600gt, 4 gig, vista ultimate 32.

Memory may not support

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

