Vista needs a shrink…

I mean, it needs the ability to iconify a window in place. Especially as more people move to larger screens and multihead displays… I’ve got all this real estate on my screen but my only choices are full size and the taskbar?

shrink1.jpg

And we know it can live-thumbnail an application because it does it on the taskbar:

shrink3.jpg

So why not let me shrink/thumbnail windows in-situ. It would declutter the task bar a ton.

shrink2.jpg

Update: It seems some people are having a hard time grasping this simple concept. I’m not talking about resizing a window with its contents remaining the same size, I’m talking about replacing the window with its own thumbnail.

The window in the example, for instance, isn’t resizable. And that’s fine, but I really don’t need that much of my desktop taken up by what amounts to a progress bar. I also just didn’t want it minimized to the task bar.

What I wanted was the thumbnail – shown in the second picture – but stuck to the desktop like a living icon, in the location of the original window itself.

Maybe I just multitask a lot more than most people *shrug*.

8 Comments

What about that little tag in the bottom right of a window? I can resize that way, and it stays that way.

Lots of windows don’t resize, and I want a thumbnail, not a sub-view of a window.

Ah ok. Maybe I just misunderstood.

Yea it should have a thumb option for the sidebar dealy
where it would display any other windows not currently active.

Update: It seems some people are having a hard time grasping this simple concept. I’m not talking about resizing a window with its contents remaining the same size, I’m talking about replacing the window with its own thumbnail.

The window in the example, for instance, isn’t resizable. And that’s fine, but I really don’t need that much of my desktop taken up by what amounts to a progress bar. I also just didn’t want it minimized to the task bar.

What I wanted was the thumbnail – shown in the second picture – but stuck to the desktop like a living icon, in the location of the original window itself.

Maybe I just multitask a lot more than most people *shrug*.

I understood what you meant. I usually have about 20 programs open.

My qurey tool,
the application (oracles ERP)
, the help desk application
, the periferral add ons that interface the the application
, Excel spreadsheet for data to send to users and others for
tracking info
, Word to document to document what the hell I’m doing so I can turn it over to someone else to support.
,Media player to play my tunes
,IE for Oracle, Firefox for everything else
,Custom programs to automate some of the support
, IM programs to keep in instanct contact with certain people at work because e-mail is not enough
, e-mail (outlook)
, putty for my server connections
, vnc for my remote tunneling to a desktop
, dos prompt to ftp or simple telnet when needed
, notepad because copy paste doesn’t format correctly between word and other apps

This is with a dual monitor because there is not enough real estate on a single monitor. With XP even with the stacking of the same app on the tool bar (ie your 10 open e-mails are stacked) I still end having to scroll the tool bar at times.

Most of these would work great with a thumbnail on the desktop, double click for a full window, double click to place back as a thumbnail. Since I won’t be on vista for years. Not worth really commenting on. I count open e-mails has open sessions since each one is an outstanding issue that needs to be resolved, otherwise it wouldn’t be open.

Personally, I would buy an aero upgrade to XP. I just don’t like Vista. It feels half finished. I love aero, love some of Vistas features, but the operating system itself feels like a learning step on MSes part.

I do believe its been said that Vista is a stop gap on the way to Windows 9.

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

