WWIIOL China

Last week’s announcement that we are working with a PRC company to release WWIIOL/Battleground Europe in China has met with some odd reactions from within our community. For those of you taking the “omg, I quit” route, I thought it might help to realize that you won’t be playing the Chinese version and the Chinese players won’t be playing your version on your servers.

Oh, you’ll benefit from some of the things we need to develop to release over there, like a tutorial system, but you won’t be on the receiving end of things like the play time limiter (although we may let you use the alarm clock part of it).

Again, to clarify: the Chinese release will include its own, entirely separate, game servers and client. Battleground Europe (China) and Battleground Europe (Global) will not be playing in the same game instance.

12 Comments

I assume you are licenceing it through a chinese games company? Are they really interested in playing battle of france or do they want to remodel the game for a different theatre or timeframe.

Hey man, this is your shot to redo the UI so that it is battle-centric and has all the right iconic and graphic info for selecting hot missions (rather than instant action spawn)

Otherwise, will your tutorial tech people how to use the complicated UI?! (just kidding – no not really, maybe a bit…_)

trout

Yeah I was reading about this and I was really confused, the ‘Myth busters’ part, I didn’t know if those statements were true or false. Thanks for clarifying.

Who’s the chinese company?

I heart ww2ol/be. More cash flow == more game for me. I don’t care if you sell ketchup popsicles to Eskimos with white gloves, if it makes a buck to improve my game I’m all for it.

They will be playing the same Belgium-centric environment.

Actually, this isn’t an opportune time to redo the whole UI as that would add a huge amount of time to the initial delivery.

I think my wife would like to have the playtime limiter put into ‘our’ version of BE. Her usual comment is “Are you on that bloody game again?”

Some of the comments about the China project in the community have been rather odd and display a certain amount of xenophobia. One of the joys that I’ve found playing the game has been the ability to interact with different people from all over the world. Over the years I’ve actually picked up bits of Dutch and Spanish simply through playing the game. Our squad (40 Comm) has a high proportion of Dutch players and I’m acutely aware of how good their English is. I’m actually a bit disappointed that we won’t get to play alongside the Chinese.

From what I’ve read so far the ‘western’ players have nothing to lose yet much to gain from this project and I wish CRS every success.

I think my wife would like to have the playtime limiter put into ‘our’ version of BE. Her usual comment is “Are you on that bloody game again?”

Some of the comments about the China project in the community have been rather odd and display a certain amount of xenophobia. One of the joys that I’ve found playing the game has been the ability to interact with different people from all over the world. Over the years I’ve actually picked up bits of Dutch and Spanish simply through playing the game. Our squad (40 Comm) has a high proportion of Dutch players and I’m acutely aware of how good their English is. I’m actually a bit disappointed that we won’t get to play alongside the Chinese.

From what I’ve read so far the ‘western’ players have nothing to lose yet much to gain from this project and I wish CRS every success.

i am actually disappointed that we won’t be playing with them. one thing china has in abundance is people. many of those people play games, often times ‘out of date’ games. games like shadowbane which has long been forgotten by the majority of the US market but has a fairly large chinese/korean population.

one thing ww2ol needs, especially in euro primetime, is players.

just seems unfortunate to me that all the potential new players won’t be on ‘our’ servers during euro primetime.

i don’t see why any players would be opposed to that. sure, there is a language barrier but i’ve been on voice comms with the anzac crew and can barely understand what those aussie/kiwis are saying and they speak english … sort of :).

unfortunate outcome IMO. this game needs players in all time zones and china has a lot of players.

One of the things that the China partnership will do is serve as an example for other potential marketing partners, in nations that favor team/squad MMOLGs and, having open nets, don’t need local game-instances. Significant game penetration into Korea, in particular, easily could result in a dramatic change in the population-character of the Bedford servers.

Will people who are in China be able to play on the Global servers? I only ask this as I am going to China a bit these days. I have been able to play in the past from inside the PRC, but will things change after the release there?

> Will people who are in China be able to play on the Global servers?

I think that depends on the kind of net service that is provided to the point where you would want to play. We have a plant in China, and a VP stationed there who of course has net access from his apartment. Both the plant and his apartment, as well as the various hotels where international travelers stay, have net access that is both international and China-wide.

We won’t be supporting Chinese character sets in “BE West”. “BE CN” will be in Chinese, you will be able to have the callsign “鋼龍” (which I believe is steel dragon – if not, I didn’t mean anything I may have just said about your mother).

I may very well take an account in China to experience the same game with 10x times of players :p

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

