Star Trek Online

This is a game with a unique quality: It’s fun to play, but easy to log out – without that never wanting to log in again part.

As a bit of a trekkie – it provides a nice alternative to watching reruns of TNG and DS9. It’s not an especially good single player game, but it is neat when you team up with other players.

The ground combat: reminds me of Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force (blended with Brothers in Arms when you are solo). The space combat: more aracdey than Eve, by far, but plenty of fun.

The PvP has a lot of potential but right now… It feels like a shoebox engine doing MMO PvP. The server arbitrates everything, down to positions, so you see “first person lag” – e.g. your character leaps back 10 feet and smacks into a wall instead of ducking into cover like you were doing on your display, and you get all kinds of glitching that results from it. ¬†It actually makes me a little more appreciative of how relatively smooth our update system is given that we are a centralized-server PvP system too.

They also don’t have any of the fundamental shoe-box PvP stuff in place beyond queues. Once an instance starts, it starts. Which means invariably one side gets into place first, and enemy #1 dies 6:1 and leaves the map. Now its unbalanced, and it rapidly dwindles to to 10:1.

If they put some standard balance mechanics around the PvP instances, it would be quite fun.

10 Comments

I’m starting to dabble with PvP in STO – not a big PvP person really – but finding the space stuff quite fun.

I could be converted…

I just want our game with a complete rewrite from the ground up and everything we ever dreamed of having.

Now where’s that damn lottery ticket…

That’d be fun to work on :)

Wanna start a new branch, Andrew? :)

Hey KFSone,

Long time since I’ve visited your blog and guess what its an STO post. Incase you didn’t know, I’m working at Cryptic now (devs for STO). Its interesting to see your post comments and how you reacted to the game. Are you going to give it another login? If you got retail you have 30 free days, I’d say that would warrant another one :) What’s your @name and I’ll add you to my friends list.

As for WWIIOL and me, I’m waiting till the next big patch to play.

I’m Lum@Lum, though I may switch to Klingon eventually :)

Gnp: Absolutely; I’m just waiting for my Chinese food to arrive.

I don’t mean the comment about logging out negatively; it’s a good thing. I’ve been banging my head against the brick wall known as “Salvaging relationships”, nothing we do seems to result in a win, maybe there’s no Klingons in our match?

And more importantly: CONGRATS! :)

Thanks! I’m going to add both of you to my friends list. (It’ll be under a different name than Gnpatton, actually, I have a gnpatton account too, so expect two friend invites!)

I’ve only done a little pvp but I agaree on the potential, space combat has so many avenues of attack / defense, feint etc. I should consider it more. I do dislike ground combat oh so much tho.

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

