2:257/130

Lets see if anyone recognizes that.

 

4 Comments

apparently, no one’s gotten the gist of it, care to explain?

Oh boy, you went back by quiet a margin. Unfortunately, back then there were no fido-nets in reach neither were BBS’s, so the address notification was an unknown. Later, there was the university with analog dial-in, or that ISDN dual channel dial back I’ve used to connect to my working place. It seems like ages away, when looking back at that time.

so long Slpr

I got my first modem with my Commodore 64, where I discovered “C=NET” (a sort of teletext bbs service) where I discovered Essex MUD… First BBS I tried to run was on the BBC Model B a few years later and finally started my own BBS on the Atari ST which didn’t last very long but eventually I got the Amiga and started running BBS-PC! and created “The Alien BBS”. I started writing software that started getting picked up by other BBSes and it became the “CodeOMatic” BBS. Eventually I wrote a sort of star-ring system that let a group of BBS-PC! boards create a seemingly shared board. It was just starting to take off when I discovered Fido and also jumped ship to Jon Radoff’s Paragon BBS (later called “StarNet”), which is where I finally got into FidoNet.

Through the MUD system I’d been writing at the time (AMUL) I hooked up with a few other developers and was trying to find people to work with me on a system which took the modem’s data-stream over a given second period and split it up into smaller chunks that would allow you to have multiple streams of data over a single connection.

The big problem was that you needed the ability to make multiple calls, and I couldn’t find an affordable way to get British Telecom to let you do this; so I stumbled across the nascent HAM radio program Ka9q which used this interesting concept of packets etc. I didn’t have a HAM rig so I wasn’t actually able to make use of it… It made some kind of sense to me on some level but I filed it away.

So imagine my surprise when, 4-5 years later, I stumble across this little startup company offering access to this thing called an “internet” using a client program called “KA9Q” :) I don’t know whether the Amiga version way back then could actually have driven a modem; and if it could, I don’t know who I’d have dialed into because I’m pretty sure there weren’t any ISPs in 87/88 :)

-Ol

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

