Defeating Adobe

Wanting to watch a YouTube video forced me to update Adobe’s Flash on my box. Great was my fear and loathing. Armed with my new best (and free) friend, Autoruns, my box is still mine.

I’d previously unchecked (disabled) the Adobe hooks, 

See! Still unchecked! (Ok, so it’s the same screenshot as before, but I’m just saving disk space and bandwidth there, trust me) Apparently the uncheck, rather than deleting the entry, was sufficient to neuter the Flash installer’s attempt to re-assert control over my box – it actually wrote the same data to the registry so that if I had disabled it via the usual means, it would have re-enabled itself.

2 Comments

woudln’t that be victory as it is still disabled?

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

[…] tip of the hat Following my mention of ‘autoruns’ while revealing (to no-one) that Adobe is evil, I thought I should follow up with an ironic little […]

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

